JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use the Site in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options.

| Last Updated:: 24/11/2021

Geospatial Portal






Bhuvan Geospatial Portal




Bhuvan, a product of National Remote Sensing Centre (ISRO), provides an easy way to experience, explore and visualize IRS images over Indian region.
Bhuvan is an initiative to showcase imaging capabilities of ISRO's satellites in multiple spatial resolutions through a web portal. Bhuvan showcases Indian images by the superimposition of these IRS satellite imageries on 3D globe. It displays satellite images of varying resolution of India’s surface, allowing users to visually see things like cities and important places of interest looking perpendicularly down or at an oblique angle, with different perspectives and can navigate through 3D viewing environment.  Bhuvan web portal enables  us to zoom into specific area of interest at high resolution images using its thematic sections.
Bhuvan portal conatins a thematic section on environment and forestry thorugh its link to the requirements of Ministry of Environment , Forests and Climate Change (MoEFCC). It has imagery related to Green India Mission, Landuse & land cover changes, Protected Areas, Wetlands, Rivers, Project Tiger etc. (Protected Areas Point Location in Bhuvan Portal )








 WII-PA Network Geospatial Portal




A protected area is a clearly defined geographical space, recognized, dedicated and managed, through legal or other effective means, to achieve the long term conservation of nature with associated ecosystem services and cultural values. (IUCN 2008).
The State Government by notification has to declare its intention to constitute any area as a protected area, which is of adequate ecological, faunal, floral, geomorphological, natural or zoological significance, for the purpose of protecting, propagating or developing wildlife or its environment. According to the Wildlife Protection Act (1972) of Government of India, there are four categories of protected areas (PAs) in the country.
1. National Park
2. Wildlife Sanctuary
3. Conservation Reserve
4. Community Reserve
India is one of the 17 mega diverse countries of the world. With only 2.4% of the world’s land area, 16.7% of the world’s human population and 18% livestock, it contributes about 8% of the known global biodiversity, however, putting enormous demands on our natural resources. India is home to world’s largest wild tiger population and has got a unique assemblage of globally important endangered species like Asiatic lion, Asian elephant, one-horned Rhinoceros, Gangetic River Dolphin, snow leopard, Kashmir stag, dugong, gharial, great Indian bustard, lion-tailed macaque etc. which are found in diverse natural ecosystems of the country. Thus, to protect this remarkable conglomeration of diverse fauna and flora within the country, a network of PAs has been established, spread over 4 % geographical area of the country.
WII-PA network portal is an effort to provide spatial information related to these PAs.


By using the Services from this portal, user agrees that Wildlife Institute of India (WII) will not be liable for any direct or indirect loss arising from the use of the information. This portal has been compiled in good faith by WII, but no representation is made or warranty given (either express or implied) as to the completeness or accuracy of the information, as data sets have been compiled from various sources including state forest departments.