JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use the Site in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options.

| Last Updated:: 23/02/2017

Who's who in Wildlife Conservation in India

 

 

Who’s who of Waterbird Conservation in India

 

Contact/ Coordinating persons

Organization

Email

Tasneem Khan

The Andaman & Nicobar Islands Environmental Team, (ANET)

Wandoor village.

tasneem@anetindia.org

Dr. Purnima Barman

 

Aaranyak

50, Samanwoy Path Survey, P.O. Beltola Guwahati, Assam 781028.

purnima.aaranyak@gmail.com

 

Dr. T. Ganesh

 

 

Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the

Environment

Royal Enclave, Srirampura, Jakkur post, Bengaluru, Karnataka 560064.

tganesh@atree.org

 

Dr. Hilloljyoti Singha

 

Assam University

Centre for Biodiversity & Natural Resources

Conservation Assam University

hilloljyoti.singha@gmail.com

 

Dr. R. Nagarajan

 

A.V.C. College

Mannampandal, Mayiladuthurai. 609305

oystercatcher@rediffmail.com, R.Nagarajan@exeter.ac.uk

 

 

Birdlife International

Wellbrook Court, Girton Road, Cambridge,
CB3 0NA United Kingdom

birdlife@birdlife.org

 

Dr. Asad Rahmani, Dr. S. Balachandran, Dr. Ranjit Mankadan

 

Bombay Natural History Society (BNHS)

Hornbill House, Museum Compound, Shaheed Bhagat Singh Road, Mumbai - 400 001.

rahmani.asad@gmail.com, bnhsbala@rediffmail.com and ransan5@gmail.com

 

Dr. Ajit Kumar Pattnaik, IFS

 

Chilika Development Authority

Chief Execuive Officer, Plot .No- C/11, BJB Nagar, Bhubaneswar, Odisha.

ajitpattnaik13@gmail.com, chilika@chilika.com

 

Mr. JugalKishor Tiwari

 

Centre for Desert and Ocean

Moti-Virani, Taluka - Nakhtrana, Kutch - 370665

cedoindia@yahoo.com

 

Mr. Nikhil Devasar

 

Delhi Bird Club

C 1/503 Mayfair Tower, Charmwood Village, Eros Garden, Surajkund Road, Faridabad, Haryana

devasar@gmail.com

 

Dr. A. J. Urfi

 

Delhi University

Department of Environmental Studies, University of Delhi (North Campus), New Delhi 110007

ajurfi@rediffmail.com

 

Dr. Sangeeta Rajgir

 

Environment Conservation Society

M-16, Shastri Nagar Colony, T.T. Nagar, Bhopal, 462003

bhopalbirds@yahoo.com

 

Mr. Arpit Deomurari

 

Foundation for Ecological Security

Avian Information System, Post Box No. 29, At - Jahangirpura, PO - Gopalpura, Vadod- 388 370,

Hadgud, District - Anand, Gujarat

deomurari@gmail.com

 

Dr. Ketan Shrikant Tatu

 

Gujarat Ecological Education & Research (GEER)

Indroda Nature Park, P.O. Sector -7, Gandhinagar-382 007, Gujarat

ketantatu@gmail.com

 

Dinesh Bhatt

 

GurukulaKangri University

Avian Diversity and Bioacoustics Lab., Department of Zoology and Environmental Sciences, Gurukula Kangri University, Haridwar-249 404

dineshharidwar@gmail.com

 

Dr. Farah Ishtiaq

 

Indian Institute of Science

Centre for Ecological Sciences, Third floor, Biological Sciences Building. Bangalore 560 012

fishtiaq@ces.iisc.ernet.in

 

Dr. K.S. Gopi Sundar

 

International Crane Foundation (ICF)

E11376, Shady Lane Road, Baraboo, WI 53913, USA. Director, Program Sarus Scape Program,

gopi@savingcranes.org

 

Dr. P.O. Nameer

 

Kerala Agricultural University

Department of Wildlife Science, College of Forestry, KAU P.O, Vellanikkara, Thrissur Kerala 680656.

nameerpo@gmail.com, nameer.po@kau.in

 

Dr. Gowri Mallapur

 

Madras Crocodile Bank Trust (MCBT)

MCBT Chennai

gowri@madrascrocodilebank.org

 

Mr. G Vijaya Kumar

 

Madras Naturalists' Society

No.8, Janaki Avenue, Abhirampuram, Chennai 18.

secretary@blackbuck.org.in,

Web: www.blackbuck.org.in

 

Dr. I. R. Gadhvi

 

Maharaja Krishna kumarsinhji Bhavnagar University

Department of Marine Science, Bhavnagar, Gujarat 364 022

irgadhvi@yahoo.co.in

 

Mr. C. Sashikumar

 

Malabar Natural History Society,

SreeNilayam, Pattanur P.O., Kannur District, Kerala 670595

csashikumar@gmail.com

 

Dr. V. Santharam

 

Rishi Valley Institute of Bird Studies & Natural History

Rishi Valley Education Centre, Chittor, Andhra Pradesh, 517 352

santharam.v@gmail.com

 

Dr. Rajah Jayapal, Dr. S.Muralidharan, DrSirish Manchi and Dr. M. Mahendira

 

Sálim Ali Centre for Ornithology and Natural History

Anaikatty (POST), Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu 641108

rajah.jp@gmail.com, ecot_mur@yahoo.com, ediblenest@gmail.com and mahenrose@rediffmail.com

 

Mr. Arvind Mishra

 

Mandar Nature Club

AnandChikitsalaya Road, Bhagalpur, Bihar 812002.

mncarvind@hotmail.com, mncarvind@rediffmail.com

 

Nanda Kishore Bhujabal

Monalisa Bhujabal

 

Wild Orissa

wildorissa@hotmail.com, wildorissa@gmail.com

Dr. R.K. Sharma

 

National Chambal Sanctuary,

Game Range Ambah, Dist. Morena,

National Chambal Sanctuary, Morena, Madhya Pradesh, Pin – 464111

rksharma_ncs@yahoo.com

 

Mr. KVRK. Thirunarayan

 

The Nature Trust,

G3, Krish View Apartments, No.45

A Valmiki St., East Tambaram, Chennai - 600059,

thenaturetrust@gmail.com

 

Dr. K.S. Gopi Sundar, Scientist

 

Nature Conservation Foundation (NCF)

Cranes & Wetlands Programme 3076/5,

4th Cross, Gokulam Park, Mysore 570002

gopi@ncf-india.org

 

Swati Kittur, Project Associate,

 

 

Cranes & Wetlands Programme 3076/5,

4th Cross, Gokulam Park, Mysore 570002

swati@ncf-india.org

 

Dr. S. Nagarajan, Dr. Richa Sood

 

National Institute of High Security Animal Diseases,

Indian Council of Agricultural Research, Anand Nagar, Bhopal- 462 021 (MP).

snagarajan@hsad.nic.in, rsood@hsad.nic.in

 

1 : Aasheesh Pittie, 2 : Praveen J.

New Ornis Foundation

Indian Birds, 2nd floor, BBR Forum,

8-2-120/115/B/5&6, Rd 2, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad 500034

editor.indianbird@gmail.com, paintedstork@gmail.com

 

 

Oriental Bird Club

P.O.Box 324, Bedford, MK42 0WG, United Kingdom

mail@orientalbirdclub.org

 

Dr. Anwaruddin Choudhury

Rhino Foundation for Nature in North-East India

House No. 7, Islampur Road, Guwahati 781007, Assam, India

acbadru56@gmail.com

 

Dr. Priya Davidar

Salim Ali School of Ecology & Environmental Sciences

Pondicherry University

pdavidar@gmail.com

 

Dr. S. Subramanya

 

University of Agricultural Sciences

PHT Scheme, J Block, GKVK Campus, Bangalore, Karnataka- 560065.

Subbus@vsnl.com, subbu.subramanya@gmail.com

 

Dr. P.C. Tak

Zoological Survey of India (ZSI)

218, Kaulagarh Road, Dehra Dun - 248195, Uttrakhand.

pctakzsi@gmail.com

 

Dr. Gopinath Maheswaran.

PraniVigyanBhawan, M Block-New Alipore, Kolkata - 700053

gmaheswaran@yahoo.com

 

Dr. C. Venkataraman.

Marine Biology Regional Centre,

130, Santhome High Road, Chennai - 600 028

venkyzsi56@yahoo.com

 

Dr. Anil Kumar

 

 

High Altitude Regional Centre Saproon, Solan, Himachal Pradesh 173211.

anilsonta@gmail.com

 

Dr. Sivaperumanan

 

ZSI Haddo, Port Blair, Andam and Nicobar Islands

c_sivaperuman1@rediffmail.com

 

Dr. Taej Mundkar

Wetlands International South Asia

A-25, Second Floor, Defense Colony, New Delhi - 110024.

taej.mundkur@wetlands.org

 

Dr. S.A.Hussain, Dr. Bivash Pandav, Dr. K.Sivakumar, Dr. Manoj Nair, Dr. Parag Nigam and Dr. Gopi G.V.

 

Wildlife Institute of India

Chandrabani, Dehradun - 248 001

hussain@wii.gov.in, bivash.pandav@wii.gov.in, ksivakumar@wii.gov.in, manojnair@wii.gov.in, nigamp@wii.gov.in, gopigv@wii.gov.in

Dr. Jatinder Kaur

 

WWF-India

Chironwali, Dehradun, Uttarakhand 248001

jatinder.sarus@gmail.com

 

 

 

Web portals

 

Organization

Contact/ Coordinating persons

 

Email

 

The Indian Bird Conservation Network (IBCN) http://ibcn.in/.

Dr. Asad Rahmani

rahmani.asad@gmail.com

 

Conservation India

http://www.conservationindia.org/.

 

Shekar Dattatri and Ramki Sreenivasan

shekar.dattatri@gmail.com, ramki@wildventures.com

 

Bird Count Consortiumhttp://www.birdcount.in/partners/.

 

 

birdcountindia@gmail.com

 

Migrant watch

http://www.migrantwatch.in/

 

Dr.Suhel Qader

suhelq@ncf-india.org

 

Birds of India

508 Jodhpur Park, Kolkata 700068

 

Sumit K Sen

birdsofindia@aol.in

 

* This list is by no means exhaustive and includes individuals and organizations who are currently active in research, conservation and management of waterbirds in India

 

IUCN SSC Specialist Groups and Red List Authorities related to Waterbirds #

 

Cormorant Specialist Group

Chair : Mr. Mennobart Van Eerden

 

Contact : +31 (320) 298-331,

Email : freebirders@kpnmail.nl

Crane Specialist

Group Chair : Mr Jim Harris

 

Contact : +1 608 356 9462,

Email : harris@savingcranes.org

Diver/Loon Specialist Group

 

Chair : Neil Burgess

 

 

Contact : +1 902 426-6356,

Email : neil.burgess@ec.gc.ca

Duck Specialist Group

 

Chair : Mr. Richard Hearn

 

Contact : +44 (1453) 891185,

Email : duckspecialistgroup@wwt.org.uk

Flamingo Specialist Group

 

Chair : Rebecca Lee

 

 

Contact : +44 1453 891 120,

Email : rebecca.lee@wwt.org.uk

Goose Specialist Group

 

Chair : Dr. Bart S. Ebbinge

 

Contact : +31 317 486 457, bart.ebbinge@wur.nl

Heron Specialist Group

 

Chair : Dr. James A. Kushlan

 

Contact : +1 410 263 4206, Email : Jkushlan@earthlink.net

Pelican Specialist Group

 

Chair : GiorgosCatsadorakis, PhD

 

Contact : +30 25540 32491;

Fax : +30 25540 32420; Mobile : +30 6974667413; Email : doncats@otenet.gr

Stork, Ibis and Spoonbill Specialist Group

 

Co-Chairs : Mr. Wim Van Den Bossche and

Luis Santiago Cano Alonso

 

Contact : MrWim Van Den Bossche

+32 478 392 014

Swan Specialist Group

 

Chair : Eileen Rees

 

Contact : Eileen.Rees@wwt.org.uk

 

Threatened Waterfowl Specialist Group

 

Chair : Dr. Baz Hughes

 

 

Contact : +44 771 7431 689

Email : Baz.Hughes@wwt.org.uk

Woodcock and Snipe Specialist Group

 

Chair : Dr. Yves Ferrand

 

 

Contact : +33 130 466 016

Email : yves.ferrand@oncfs,gouv.fr

Bird Red List Authority

 

Chair : Andy Symes

 

Contact : +44 1223 279837

Email : Andy.Symes@birdlife.org

 

# Source : http://www.iucn.org/